Reprinted by Blavatsky Study Center

Return to Contents page of "Theosophy versus Neo-Theosophy"

Principles of Man


           "As we are proceeding here frorn Universals to Particulars, instead of using the inductive or Aristotlean method, the numbers are reversed. Spirit is enumerated the first instead of seventh, as is usually done, but, in truth, ought not to be done... Or as usually named after the manner of Esoteric Buddhism and others: 1, Atma; 2, Buddhi (or Spiritual Soul); 3, Manas (Human Soul); 4, Kama Rupa (Vehicle of Desire and Passions); 5, Linga Sarira; 6, Prana; 7, Sthula Sarira." (Secret Doctrine I, p. 153)


1. Atma
2. Buddhi (or Spiritual Soul)
3. Manas (Human Soul)
4. Kama Rupa (Vehicle of Desires and Passions)
5. Linga Sarira
6. Prana
7. Sthula Sarira

            "We include Atma among the human 'principles' in order not to create additional confusion. In reality it is no 'human' but the universal absolute principle of which Buddhi, the Soul-Spirit, is the carrier." (Key to Theosophy, p. 93)

            "The 'principles,' as already said, save the body, the life, and the astral eidolon, all of which disperse at death, are simply aspects and states of consciousness." (Key to Theosophy, p. 100)

           "Occultism teaches that physical man is one, but the thinking man septenary, thinking, acting, feeling, and living on seven different states of being or planes of consciousness, and that for all these states and planes the permanent Ego (not the false personality) has a distinct set of senses."  (Transactions of the Blavatsky Lodge, p. 73)


i . Adi
ii. Anupadaka
iii. Atma
iv. Buddhi
v. Manas
vi. Kamas
vii. Sthula
(Annie Besant, A Study in Consciousness, p. 64, [1918, 3rd Edition])

Principles Life Forms
Atma. Spirit

Higher Manas

Lower Manas Kama
Linga Sharir
Sthula Sharira

Spiritual Soul

] Human Soul

Animal Soul

Causal Body

Mental Body

Astral Body
Etheric Double
Dense Body 

(Annie Besant, Ancient Wisdom, p. 194)

 "Dr . Annie Besant has proposed a set of names for the planes, so for future these will be used  instead of  those previously  employed.   A table  of them is given below for reference: [13]

New Names Old Namese
1. Divine World
2.Monadic World
3.Spiritual World
4. Intuitional World
5. Mental World
6. Emotional or Astral World
7. Physical World   
1. Adi Plane
2. Anupadaka Plane
3. Atmic or Nirvanic Plane
4. Buddhic Plane
5. Mental Plane
6. Astral Plane
7. Physical Plan

(C. W. Leadbeater, A Textbook of Theosophy, 3rd Edition, 1918, p. 41) [13]

 "The various subtle bodies of man that we have now studied form in their aggregate what is usually called the 'aura' of the human being. This aura has the appearance of an egg-shaped luminous cloud, in the midst of which is the dense physical body, and from its appearance it has often been spoken of as though it were nothing more than such a cloud. What is usually called the aura is mearely such parts of the subtle bodies as extend beyond the periphery of the dense physical body; each body is complete in itself and interpenetrates those that are coarser than itself; it is larger or smaller according to its development, and all that part of it that overlays the surface of the dense physical body is termed the aura. The aura is thus composed of the overlapping portions of the etheric double, the desire body, and in rare cases the buddhic body, illuminated by the atmic radiance."  [14] (Annie Besant, Ancient Wisdom, p. 195)